10.20.2013 Moonrise Kingdom

Screen Shot 2013-10-20 at 10.53.57 PM

I saw this in the theater and while I admired it from a technical standpoint I wasn’t completely in love with it like most.  I would have put it around the middle of his output.

This time it worked better for me.  Still not reaching the heights of Rushmore/Tenenbaums/Fox , it is a great film, perhaps a sadder film than I was originally expecting.  I don’t find it as funny as a lot of his others and I think that was one of my problems the first time, but it also doesn’t seems like it wants to be as funny this time.

Both times I would easily say that Bruce Willis steals the show in the most compassionate performance I think I’ve ever seen from him.

Leave a Reply

